Wordy & Nerdy #8: Celebrate yourself like a friend 💖✨

Melissa Mertsis
4 min readJun 11, 2024

Last week I was doomscrolling on Instagram (as one does) and I saw a quote:

“I don’t feel accomplished after finishing a task. I just feel relieved it’s done.”

This isn’t the exact post (because of course I can’t find it anymore) but it was basically this

My first thought about the quote was “Oof,” because I feel that way A LOT.

(A.K.A. I probably did see it on an ADHD meme page because the algo knows me.)

My second thought about the quote didn’t pop up until a few days later.

I had just told my best pal Claire about “relief vs. accomplishment” when I realized:

We celebrate each other’s finished tasks as accomplishments without any thought.

Sent a scary email? Hell yeah you did, bestie!

Went on a Hot Girl Walk? You’re a goddess on Earth.

Simply existed? That’s the best damn thing since sliced bread.

Me to my friends when they are simply breathing

When your friends do literally anything, it’s so easy to celebrate them.

(And you should keep celebrating your friends because everything they do is automatically and unironically the best thing ever… duh.)

HOWEVER…

Here’s some food for thought:

When did you last pat yourself on the back for sending a scary email?

When did you last call your Hot Girl Walk a “massive win?”

When did you last hype yourself up for simply existing?

When did you last celebrate yourself the way you celebrate your friends?

If, like me, you can’t remember…

Then you, my friend, are overdue.

Time to channel your inner Niecy Nash!!!

Wordy — 10 Reminders For You (Because You’re Great)

Listen, whether or not you “believe” in affirmations…

It doesn’t hurt to hear ’em once in a while.

So, today’s “Wordy” section has 10 reminders (from me to you with LOVE).

  1. You are important.
  2. Your opinion is important.
  3. You are capable of doing hard things.
  4. You are not “too late” or “too far behind.”
  5. You can say “NO” when you need or want to.
  6. You are allowed to rest and listen to your body.
  7. You are unique and that uniqueness is a strength.
  8. You are allowed to stop doing things you don’t like doing.
  9. You don’t have to be good at everything (because nobody is).
  10. You can give yourself space from relationships that no longer serve you.

P.S. You can tell yourself these truths, too, y’know. Just switch the “you’s” to “I’s” and bingo bango — you’re ready for some self-love.

Nerdy — A Curated Mini Playlist for Self-Love

It’s a scientific fact that music is good for the soul.

…okay fine, the jury is still out on the “soul” bit.

(But it’s definitely good for your brain.)

EITHER WAY…

Here’s a mini playlist of self-love/bad-ass/I AM A QUEEN jams so you can keep on remembering that you’re the best.

Here’s a mini playlist of self-love/bad-ass/I AM A QUEEN jams so you can keep on remembering that you’re the best.

And, if you need a little extra today, these are some 80s ballads from ME to YOU. đź’–

P.S. Thanks to my pals and family for recommending some of these absolute BOPS!!!

Bits & Bobs

💖 Know someone that could use a li’l boost of self-love?🫶

Forward this newsletter to them and add a message about how much they matter to you. I guarantee you’ll make their day (or week!).

🚙 I’m planning a road trip to the East Coast of Canada! 🦞

So, if you have any recommendations for New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, or Nova Scotia, please send ’em my way.

🎵 Have you listened to Billie Eilish’s newest album yet??? 🌊

​HIT ME HARD AND SOFT has been on aggressive replay in this household. It deserves every one of its 500 million streams (and more).

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see ya in 2 weeks.

— Mel

P.S. My subscribers got to read this newsletter on May 29th. đź‘€

Subscribe to “Wordy & Nerdy” to read these newsletters on the day they come out (instead of two full weeks later).

--

--

Melissa Mertsis

I'm a copy and content writer, a lover of the Oxford comma, and an obnoxious dog mom. I'm happy you're here!